Save up to $400 on
Tennessee car insurance

Tennessee DUI Laws

In the state of Tennessee you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Tennessee DUI Offense

  • 48 hours to 11 months imprisonment
  • $350 to $1500 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible community service
  • Possible child endangerment penalty if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • Possible alcohol safety DUI program

Second Tennessee DUI Offense
  • 45 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $3500 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 6 months if within 5 years of previous offense
  • Possible vehicle seizure
  • Possible community service
  • Possible child endangerment penalty if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • Possible treatment assessment
  • Possible alcohol safety DUI program

Third Tennessee DUI Offense
  • 120 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1100 to $10,000 fine
  • 3 to 10 years license suspension
  • Ignition interlock
  • Possible vehicle seizure
  • Possible community service
  • Possible child endangerment penalty if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • Possible treatment assessment
  • Possible alcohol safety DUI program

Fourth Tennessee DUI Offense
  • Class “E” felony
  • 150 days and up imprisonment
  • $3000 to $15,000 fine
  • 5 years to indefinite license suspension
  • Ignition interlock
  • Possible vehicle seizure
  • Possible community service
  • Possible child endangerment penalty if minor under 18 is present in vehicle
  • Possible treatment assessment
  • Possible alcohol safety DUI program

Tennessee’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year and 2 years for a second refusal. You may also still be convicted of DUI offense even without a chemical test.