Save up to $400 on
Utah car insurance

Utah DUI Laws

In the state of Utah you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Utah DUI Offense

  • Minimum 2 days imprisonment or
  • Minimum 2 days community service or
  • Home confinement
  • Minimum $700 fine
  • 120-day license suspension
  • Possible home confinement
  • Possible alcohol/drug screening
  • Possible alcohol/drug assessment
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible substance abuse treatment

Second Utah DUI Offense
  • Minimum 240 hours imprisonment or
  • Minimum 240 hours community service or
  • Home confinement
  • Minimum $800 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock required for 3 years if offense occurred within 10 year of previous
  • Possible home confinement
  • Possible supervised probation
  • Possible alcohol/drug screening
  • Possible alcohol/drug assessment
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible substance abuse treatment

Third Utah DUI Offense
  • Minimum 1500 hours imprisonment
  • Minimum $1500 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock required for 3 years if offense occurred within 10 year of previous
  • Possible supervised probation
  • Possible alcohol/drug screening
  • Possible alcohol/drug assessment
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible substance abuse treatment

Utah’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 18 months and 2 years for subsequent refusals.