Save up to $400 on
Utah car insurance

Utah Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Utah has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Utah driver license.

Utah Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 15 years old.

Those who wish to apply a learner’s permit must meet the following requirements:

  • Must be at least 15 years old
  • Must have parent or legal guardian sign application
  • Provide two forms of identification
  • Proof of residency
  • Pay $15 for learner’s permit; $30 for Utah license

Those who hold learner’s permits must complete at least 40 hours of driving, including at least 10 hours at night. Once all conditions have been met, the teen may apply for an unrestricted Utah driver’s license. They must also pass a road skills test and complete an application.

Utah Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Permit holders may not drive without an approved driving instructor, parent, or legal guardian who must occupy the front passenger seat at all times.
  • Teens may not drive between 12 am and 5 am unless accompanied by adult at least 21 years of age who must be in the front passenger seat at all times., except when driving to and from school, work, or in case of emergencies.
  • Permit holders who are less than 17 years old, may not have any passengers, excluding immediate family members, unless accompanied by licensed driver at least 21 years or older.
  • Violating these conditions may result in licensing delay or suspension or possible fines.