Save up to $400 on
Washington car insurance

Washington Auto Insurance Minimums, Laws and Requirements

Each state requires registered drivers to carry a certain amount of Minimum Liability Coverage auto insurance.

Washington mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught driving with insurance will have to pay a minimum $450 fine. Providing false insurance information carries a misdemeanor charge.

Washington Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Washington they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Washington Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Washington does not require this coverage but recommends carrying more than the state minimum.

No Fault Insurance
In Washington, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Washington is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.