Save up to $400 on
Washington car insurance

Washington DUI Laws

In the state of Washington you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Washington DUI Offense

  • 1 day to 1 year imprisonment or 15 days electronic home monitoring
  • 2 days to 1 year if BAC is above 0.15% or 30 days electronic home monitoring
  • Minimum $865.50 to $5000 fine
  • Minimum $1120.50 to $5000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • 90-day license suspension
  • 1-year license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Ignition interlock (add 60 days if minor under 16 was present in vehicle)
  • SR-22 insurance required
  • Possible substance abuse education

Second Washington DUI Offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment or 60 days electronic home monitoring
  • 45 days to 1 year if BAC is above 0.15% or 90 days electronic home monitoring
  • Minimum $1120.50 to $5000 fine
  • Minimum $1545.50 to $5000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • 2-year license suspension
  • 900-days license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Ignition interlock (add 60 days if minor under 16 was present in vehicle)
  • SR-22 insurance required
  • Possible substance abuse education

Third Washington DUI Offense
  • Mandatory 60 days in jail
  • 60 days to one year imprisonment
  • $2100 to $10,000 fine
  • 3-year license suspension

Fourth Washington DUI Offense
  • 90 days to 1 year imprisonment and 120 days electronic home monitoring
  • 120 days to 1 year if BAC is above 0.15% and 150 days electronic home monitoring
  • Minimum $1970.50 to $5000 fine
  • Minimum $2820.50 to $5000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • 3-year license suspension
  • 4-year license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Ignition interlock (add 60 days if minor under 16 was present in vehicle)
  • SR-22 insurance required
  • Possible substance abuse education

Washington’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for at least one year. Subsequent refusals carry longer suspensions and greater penalties