Save up to $400 on
Wisconsin car insurance

Wisconsin DUI Laws

In the state of Wisconsin you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Wisconsin DUI Offense

  • $150 to $300 fine
  • 6 to 9 months license suspension
  • Restricted license possible
  • Alcohol assessment
  • SR-22 insurance required

Second Wisconsin DUI Offense
  • 5 days to 6 months imprisonment
  • $300 to $1100 fine
  • 12 to 18 months license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 60 days
  • Restricted license possible after 12 months possible if offense is within 5 years of previous
  • Vehicle immobilization or ignition interlock may be required
  • Alcohol assessment
  • SR-22 insurance required

Third Wisconsin DUI Offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $2000 fine
  • 2 to 3 years license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 90 days
  • Restricted license possible after 12 months possible if offenses are within 5 years of previous
  • Vehicle immobilization or seized or ignition interlock may be required
  • Alcohol assessment
  • SR-22 insurance required

Fourth Wisconsin DUI Offense
  • 6 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $2,000 fine
  • 2 to 3 years license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 90 days
  • Restricted license possible after 12 months possible if offenses are within 5 years of previous
  • Vehicle immobilization or seized or ignition interlock may be required
  • Alcohol assessment
  • SR-22 insurance required

Fifth and Sixth Wisconsin DUI Offenses
  • 6 months to 6 years imprisonment
  • $600 to $10,000 fine
  • 2 to 3 years license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 90 days
  • Restricted license possible after 12 months possible if offenses are within 5 years of previous
  • Vehicle immobilization or seized or ignition interlock may be required
  • Alcohol assessment
  • SR-22 insurance required

Wisconsin’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year.