Auto Insurance Minimums All 50 States – Cheatsheet

Each state requires registered drivers to carry a certain amount of Minimum Liability Coverage auto insurance.

Table of Contents

Alabama Auto Insurance Minimums

Alabama mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Alternatively, drivers can cover themselves with cash deposit – not less than $50,000 – or a vehicle liability bond filed with the Alabama DMV.

Drivers are required to show proof of insurance the time of registration or if they are stopped or involved in an accident. If you are caught operating a vehicle without insurance coverage, you could have your license suspended and face fines and penalties up to $500, first offense.

Furthermore, drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Alabama Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Alabama they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Alabama Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Alabama does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Alabama, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance.

Alabama is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Alaska Car Insurance Minimums

Alaska mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers are required to show proof of insurance the time of registration or if they are involved in an accident resulting in injury, death, and or property damage in excess of $501, they will be required to present proof of insurance.

Alaska Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Alaska they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $50,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $100,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Alaska Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Alaska does not require it but does mandate all insurance companies offer policy-holders a written offer of UM/UIM motorist coverage.

No Fault Insurance
Alaska is not a no-fault state. Citizens are not required to carry Personal Injury Protection or comprehensive or collision coverage.

Arizona Car Insurance Minimums

Arizona mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Arizona’s liability insurance minimums apply to golf carts and motorcycles/mopeds as well.

Arizona Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Arizona they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Arizona Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Arizona does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Arizona, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance.

Arizona is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Arkansas Car Insurance Minimums

Each state requires registered drivers to carry a certain amount of Minimum Liability Coverage auto insurance.

Arkansas mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Arkansas Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Arkansas they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Arkansas Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Arkansas does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Arkansas, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance.

Arkansas is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

California Auto Insurance Minimums

California mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Alternatively, drivers can cover themselves with cash deposit – not less than $35,000, a vehicle liability bond filed with the Alabama DMV, a certificate of self-insurance issued by DMV to fleet owners of 25 or more vehicles, or a surety bond of $35,000 from a California-licensed insurance company.

California Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In California they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $5,000

California Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

California does not require this coverage but highly recommends purchasing at least $50,000 worth of coverage or as much as you can afford.

No Fault Insurance
In California, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. California is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Colorado Auto Insurance Minimums

Colorado mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Colorado Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Colorado they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000

Colorado Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Colorado does not require it but does mandate all insurance companies offer policy-holders a written offer of UM/UIM motorist coverage for such coverage equal to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.

Furthermore, though it’s not required, Colorado requires insurance companies to offer collision coverage as well.

No Fault Insurance
In Colorado, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Colorado is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Connecticut Auto Insurance Minimums

Connecticut mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Furthermore, drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Furthermore, drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Connecticut Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Connecticut they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $20,000/$40,000

Connecticut Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

No Fault Insurance
In Connecticut, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Connecticut is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Delaware Auto Insurance Minimums

Delaware mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Furthermore, drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Delaware Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Delaware they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $10,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $15,000
  • Property Damage: $30,000

Delaware Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Delaware does not require it but does mandate all insurance companies offer policy-holders a written offer of Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Delaware, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Delaware is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Florida Auto Insurance Minimums

Florida mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Furthermore, drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Florida Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Florida they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $10,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $20,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Florida Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Florida does not require it but does mandate all insurance companies offer policy-holders a written offer of Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. They must also provide a declaration page, which indicates a driver has elected not to carry such coverage.

No Fault Insurance
Florida is not a no-fault state. Citizens are not required to carry Personal Injury Protection or comprehensive or collision coverage.

Georgia Auto Insurance Minimums

Georgia mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Georgia allows certain exemptions including:

  • The vehicle’s lease is terminated
  • The vehicle is inoperable or it was stolen or repossessed
  • It was wrecked, salvaged or junked
  • It is only used for seasonal or agricultural purposes
  • Ownership was transferred out of state or the owner moved

Georgia Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Georgia they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Georgia Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy. Georgia does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Georgia, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Georgia is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Hawaii Auto Insurance Minimums

Hawaii mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Hawaii Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Hawaii they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $10,000

Hawaii Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Hawaii does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
Hawaii is considered a No-Fault state however, that only applies to bodily injury and Hawaii also has a monetary limit of $5000. Consequently, if you encounter medical bills in excess of $5000, you may be able to file a claim against the other driver.

Moreover, Hawaii also requires residents to carry $10,000 worth of PIP coverage.

Idaho Auto Insurance Minimums

Idaho mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. If you fail to do so, you may be required to prove financial responsibility for one year. If you are caught a second time, you will have to do so for three years.

All vehicles must carry minimum insurance coverage regardless of whether they are registered or not. If caught driving without insurance, a driver faces a one-year license suspension.

Idaho Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Idaho they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000

Idaho Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Idaho requires insurance companies to include underinsured as well as uninsured motorist coverage unless otherwise expressly rejected in writing by the insured.

No Fault Insurance
In Idaho, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Idaho is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Illinois Auto Insurance Minimums

Illinois mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. This extends to include other motorized vehicles including vans, motorcycles, RVs, busses, and trucks.

Illinois does not require proof of insurance when a vehicle is registered and instead conducts random insurance audits. If caught without proper proof of insurance, a driver’s license plates are suspended.

Those unable to provide proper proof of insurance when they are stopped will have to pay a mandatory $500 fine in addition to $100 to reinstate their registration.

Illinois Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Illinois they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000

Illinois Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Illinois does not require this coverage but does recommend carrying as much as one can afford.

No Fault Insurance
In Illinois, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Illinois is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Indiana Car Insurance Minimums

Indiana mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Alternatively, drivers can cover themselves with cash deposit – not less than $40,000 – or a vehicle liability bond filed with the Indiana DMV.

Drivers caught without insurance will have their licenses suspended for 90 days and will need to provide a $150 reinstatement fee. A second offense carries a 90-day suspension in addition to a $225 fee. A third offense carries a 90-days suspension and $300 fee.

Violating Indiana auto insurance laws twice in one year brings a one-year suspension.

Indiana Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Indiana they are as follows::

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Indiana Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Indiana requires insurance companies to include underinsured as well as uninsured motorist coverage unless otherwise expressly rejected in writing by the insured.

Indiana sets their minimum UM/UIM amounts at $50,000 if one elects for coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Indiana, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Indiana is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Iowa Car Insurance Minumums

Iowa mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone pulled over by a police officer must provide valid proof of insurance.

Iowa Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Iowa they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000

Iowa Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Iowa does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Iowa, drivers are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Iowa is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Kansas Car Insurance Minimums

Kansas mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Anyone caught driving without valid auto insurance coverage can be found guilty of a Class “B” misdemeanor. This carries with it a $300 to $1000 fine and imprisonment up to 6 months.

A second offense is considered a Class “A” misdemeanor, which carries a minimum fine of $800 to $2500.

Kansas Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Kansas they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Minimum PIP coverage:

  • Medical expense per person: $4500
  • Disability coverage: $900 per month for one year
  • In-home services: $25 per day for one year
  • Funeral/burial/cremation: $2000
  • Rehabilitation expense: $4500

Survivor benefits:

  • $900 per month for one year
  • In-home services: $25 per day for one year

Kansas Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects drivers in case you are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Kansas requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Kansas, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Kansas is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Kentucky Car Insurance Minimums

Kentucky mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Kentucky Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Kentucky they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Kentucky drivers can also opt for a single limit plan that covers liability up to $60,000.

Kentucky Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Kentucky does not require this coverage but highly recommend carrying it.

No Fault Insurance
In Kentucky, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Kentucky is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Louisiana Car Insurance Minimums

Louisiana mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Louisiana Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Louisiana they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Louisiana Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Louisiana does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Louisiana, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Louisiana is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Maine Car Insurance Minimums

Maine mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Maine Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Maine they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000
  • Medical payments: $1000

Maine Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Maine requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Maine, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Maine is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Maryland Car Insurance Minimums

Maryland mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to maintain valid minimum auto insurance coverage at all times could result in license suspension or imprisonment.

Maryland Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Maryland they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $40,000

Maryland Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Maryland does not require this coverage but highly recommend carrying it.

No Fault Insurance
In Maryland, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Maryland is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Massachusetts Car Insurance Minimums

Massachusetts mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Massachusetts Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Massachusetts they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $5000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $8000

Massachusetts Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Massachusetts does not require this coverage but highly recommend carrying it.

No Fault Insurance
Massachusetts is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

Michigan Auto Insurance Minimums

Michigan mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Failure to provide valid proof of insurance means a driver could be required to prove a vehicle is insured for no less than six months plus pay a $50 fine. Their plates may be suspended also.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Michigan Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Michigan they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Michigan Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Michigan does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
Michigan is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

Minnesota Car Insurance Minimums

Minnesota mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Minnesota Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Minnesota they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $30,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $60,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $40,000

Minnesota Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Minnesota requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
Minnesota is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

Mississippi Car Insurance Minimums

Mississippi mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to carry valid minimum liability insurance could result in a fine of $1000 and a one-year license suspension. Penalties increase accordingly for each subsequent offense.

Mississippi Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Mississippi they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Mississippi Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Mississippi does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Mississippi, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Mississippi is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Missouri Car Insurance Minimums

Missouri mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Missouri Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Missouri they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Missouri Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Missouri requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Missouri, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Missouri is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Montana Car Insurance Minimums

Montana mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Under Montana law, driving without insurance is considered a misdemeanor carrying a fine $250 to $500 and 10 days imprisonment for a first offense. A second offense carries a minimum fine of $350 and 10 days imprisonment and a 90-day license suspension.

Offenders will also collect 5 points on their license. 30 points or more means a license is automatically revoked.

Montana Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Montana they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Montana Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Montana does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Montana, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Montana is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Nebraska Auto Insurance Minimums

Nebraska mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught driving in Nebraska without valid proof of insurance will have their license immediately suspended.

Nebraska Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Nebraska they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Nebraska Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Nebraska requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Nebraska, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Nebraska is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Nevada Car Insurance Minimums

Nevada mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Nevada has an insurance verification program, a joint effort between state-approved insurance agencies and the Nevada DMV. Any vehicles suspected of being uninsured means the owner has 20 days to respond to a request to provide proof of insurance. Failure to do provide proof within the allotted time means the vehicle registration will be suspended. The owner must then pay to reinstate or surrender their plates.

Nevada Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Nevada they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Nevada Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Nevada does not require this coverage but highly recommends purchasing it.

No Fault Insurance
In Nevada, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Nevada is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

New Hampsire Auto Insurance Minimums

New Hampshire mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

If a driver accumulates a certain number of points on their driver’s license or is convicted of a DWI, they will need to prove liability insurance for three years while a second DWI offense will require proof for five years.

New Hampshire Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In New Hampshire they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

New Hampshire Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

New Hampshire requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In New Hampshire, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. New Hampshire is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

New Jersey Auto Insurance Minimums

New Jersey mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Failure to present current proof of insurance when requested may result in fines.

Any driver caught driving without insurance risks fines and/or suspension of their license or registration. Further penalties could include community service, imprisonment, and impoundment.

New Jersey Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In New Jersey they are as follows:

Basic policy:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $10,000
  • Property Damage: $5,000
  • Permanent or significant injury: $250,000

Standard policy:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $5,000
  • Personal Injury Protection Per Person: $250,000
  • Permanent or significant injury: $250,000

New Jersey Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

No Fault Insurance
New Jersey is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

New Mexico Car Insurance Minimums

New Mexico mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Alternatively, drivers can cover themselves with cash deposit – not less than $60,000 – or a surety bond filed with the New Mexico’s treasurer’s office.

New Mexico has an Insurance Identification Database meant to monitor the insurance status of its registered drivers. Drivers caught without insurance may be charged with a misdemeanor, have their registration suspended, and fines up to $300.

New Mexico Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In New Mexico they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

New Mexico Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

New Mexico does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In New Mexico, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. New Mexico is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

New York Auto Insurance Minimums

New York mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught operating their vehicle without insurance will face license suspension, loss of vehicle registration, tickets, fines, and possible impoundment. Loss of vehicle registration for 90 days or less accrues fines of $8 to $12 per day for each day the vehicle is uninsured.

New York Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In New York they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $50,000

New York Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

New York requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
New York is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

North Carolina Auto Insurance Minimums

North Carolina mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to maintain valid auto insurance means a driver will have their license plate will be suspended for at least 30 days. Reinstatement carries a $50 fee, any applicable plate fees, as well as a $50 service fee.

North Carolina Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In North Carolina they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $30,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $60,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

North Carolina Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

North Carolina requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage.

No Fault Insurance
In North Carolina, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. North Carolina is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

North Carolina Auto Insurance Minimums

North Carolina mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to maintain valid auto insurance means a driver will have their license plate will be suspended for at least 30 days. Reinstatement carries a $50 fee, any applicable plate fees, as well as a $50 service fee.

North Carolina Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In North Carolina they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $30,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $60,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

North Carolina Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

North Carolina requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage.

No Fault Insurance
In North Carolina, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. North Carolina is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

North Dakota Car Insurance Minimums

North Dakota mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught driving without insurance will be fined $150 and may accumulate 6 or 12 points on their driving record. A second offense within 18 months means a $300 fine and another 6 or 12 points. In addition, proof of insurance will need to be provided for three years thereafter.

Also, failure to provide proof of insurance means an immediate license suspension.

North Dakota Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In North Dakota they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $30,000

North Dakota Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

North Dakota requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
North Dakota is a No Fault state meaning that a driver will have their injuries paid for by their insurance company no matter who is at fault.

Ohio Auto Insurance Minimums

Ohio mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Alternatively, drivers can cover themselves with an authorized surety bond, cash or government bond – not less than $30,000 –or BMV bond secured by real estate equity equaling at least $60,000.

Ohio requires anyone operating a vehicle to have proof of financial responsibility coverage at all times even if it isn’t their vehicle.

Failure to provide adequate proof of coverage means a driver will lose their license for 90 days for a first offense. A second offense will see a one-year suspension. Two more subsequent offenses mean a confiscation of license plates and cancellation of registration.

Reinstatement fees range from $75 to $500 and a repeat offender will be required to purchase special high-risk insurance for three to five years. It is also possible one’s vehicle will be impounded.

Ohio Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Ohio they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $12,500
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $25,000
  • Property Damage: $7,500

Ohio Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Ohio does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Ohio, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Ohio is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Oklahoma Auto Insurance Minimums

Oklahoma mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught driving without insurance faces a possible $250 fine an up to 30 days imprisonment. It is also possible a driver’s license and vehicle will be suspended.

Oklahoma Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Oklahoma they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Oklahoma Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Oklahoma does not require this coverage but recommends carrying it.

No Fault Insurance
In Oklahoma, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Oklahoma is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Oregon Auto Insurance Minimums

Oregon mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Anyone caught driving without auto insurance faces a Class “A” misdemeanor, fines, and up to one year in jail.

Drivers must submit proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle.

Oregon Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Oregon they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $15,000

Oregon Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Oregon requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Oregon, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Oregon is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Minimums

Each state requires registered drivers to carry a certain amount of Minimum Liability Coverage auto insurance.

Pennsylvania mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Anyone caught operating their vehicle without insurance will face a minimum $300 fine, 3-month vehicle registration suspension, as well as fees for registration/license reinstatement, and vehicle impoundment.

Pennsylvania Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Pennsylvania they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $15,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $30,000
  • Property Damage: $5000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $5000

Pennsylvania Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Pennsylvania does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Pennsylvania, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Pennsylvania is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Rhode Island Auto Insurance Minimums

Rhode Island mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Anyone caught driving without valid auto insurance coverage will have their license suspended until they can provide proof of coverage.

Rhode Island Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Rhode Island they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Rhode Island Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Rhode Island recommends but does not require everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Rhode Island, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Rhode Island is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

South Carolina Auto Insurance Minimums

South Carolina mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to provide proof of insurance will incur a ticket and possible imprisonment. Anyone caught driving without proper insurance coverage will have 15 days to prove otherwise or will have their license suspended indefinitely.

South Carolina Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In South Carolina they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

South Carolina Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

South Carolina does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In South Carolina, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. South Carolina is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

South Dakota Auto Insurance Minimums

South Dakota mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to provide valid proof of insurance could result in a suspended license, $100 fine, and 30 days to 1 year imprisonment. There is a $50 fee to have a license reinstated.

South Dakota Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In South Dakota they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

South Dakota Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

South Dakota requires everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In South Dakota, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. South Dakota is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Tennessee Auto Insurance Minimums

Tennessee mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to provide proof of insurance coverage could result in a Class “C” misdemeanor, $100 fine, and license suspension.

Tennessee Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Tennessee they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000

Tennessee Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Tennessee does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Tennessee, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Tennessee is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Texas Auto Insurance Minimums

Texas mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Drivers may also post a financial bond instead of purchasing insurance.

Anyone caught driving without insurance will be fined $175 to $350 with penalties increasing for the second and third offenses. On the third offense, a driver’s license will be suspended.

Texas Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Texas they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $25,000

Texas Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Texas does not require this coverage but recommends carrying more than the state minimum.

No Fault Insurance
In Texas, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Texas is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Utah Auto Insurance Minimums

Utah mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to properly insure a vehicle will result in a Class “B” misdemeanor and a possible $400 fine as well as loss of driving privileges.

Utah Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Utah they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $65,000
  • Property Damage: $15,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $3000

Utah Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Utah does not require this coverage.

No Fault Insurance
In Utah, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Utah is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Vermont Auto Insurance Minimums

Vermont mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Failure to provide adequate proof of insurance coverage could result in tickets, a $100 fine, and two points on one’s driving record. Furthermore, a driver will have to file proof of financial responsibility with the Vermont DMV.

Vermont drivers have the option of providing evidence of self-insurance in the amount of $115,000. This must be file with the commissioner of motor vehicles.

Vermont Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Vermont they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Vermont Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Vermont does not require this coverage but recommends carrying more than the state minimum.

No Fault Insurance
In Vermont, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Vermont is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Virginia Auto Insurance Minimums

Virginia mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. In order to purchase license plates or registration decals, a vehicle owner must provide valid proof of insurance. Alternatively, they may pay a $500 uninsured motorist vehicle fee, which essentially allows someone to drive at his or her own risk.

Failure to carry adequate coverage or a UMV means a driver will have their license and registration suspended. To have them reinstated, one must pay a $500 statutory fee, reinstatement fee, and carry SR-22 insurance for three years.

Virginia Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Virginia they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $20,000

Virginia Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Virginia does not require this coverage but recommends carrying more than the state minimum.

No Fault Insurance
In Virginia, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Virginia is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

West Virginia Car Insurance Minimums

West Virginia mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to provide proof of insurance means a 30-day suspension for a driver’s license and vehicle registration. A second offense carries a 90-day suspension. In order to reinstate a license, a driver must present proof of insurance, pay a $100 fine, and a $50 fee.

West Virginia Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In West Virginia they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $20,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $40,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

West Virginia Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Wisconsin recommends but does not require everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage equal to or greater than the state required minimums.

No Fault Insurance
In West Virginia, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. West Virginia is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Wisconsin Auto Insurance Minimums

Wisconsin mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times. Alternatively, drivers can place a $60,000 cash deposit with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation or post a bond from an insurance company licensed in the state.

Failure to provide adequate proof of insurance can result in license and registration suspension. Drivers must also provide proof of insurance when reinstating a driver’s license or vehicle registration.

Wisconsin Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Wisconsin they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $10,000

Wisconsin Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Wisconsin recommends but does not require everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.

No Fault Insurance
In Wisconsin, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Wisconsin is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.

Wyoming Auto Insurance Premiums

Wyoming mandates all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

Failure to carry proper proof of insurance of coverage carries a $250 to $750 fine, possible imprisonment. A second offense will incur $500 to $1500 fine and possible imprisonment.

Wyoming Minimum Liability Coverage
Each state sets its own minimum liability amounts. In Wyoming they are as follows:

  • Bodily Injury for One Person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury for All Injuries: $50,000
  • Property Damage: $20,000

Wyoming Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Some states require drivers to carry Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage. This protects a driver in case they are involved in an accident and the other person is not adequately covered by an auto insurance policy.

Wyoming recommends but does not require everyone to carry minimum UM/UIM coverage equal to or greater than the state required minimums.

No Fault Insurance
In Wyoming, you are not required to carry no-fault insurance. Wyoming is a Tort state meaning that the driver at fault must pay a victim’s medical expenses. Further, the victim can also pursue compensation for additional lost wages as well as pain and suffering.