Hands-Free Driving Laws All 50 States – Cheatsheet

Driving while distracted (DWD) has always been a very real danger for anyone who takes to the road.

It’s all too easy to get caught up in a conversation with your passengers or passing scenery and as many experienced drivers can testify, things can go wrong very quickly when you take your eyes off the road for even a few seconds.

Over the past decade however, with the proliferation of cell phones and other handheld wireless devices into everyone’s lives, DWD has morphed from random and isolated to a persistent and very dangerous problem.

Consider the following facts:

  • Reaction time for drivers using a cell phone is the same as having a blood alcohol content of 0.08%, which is the nationwide legal limit for DUI/DWI convictions.
  • If you use a cell phone while you drive, you are four times more likely to be injured in a crash.
  • Cell phones reduce a driver’s attentionto driving by 37%.
  • If you text while you drive, you are 23% more likely to cause an accident.
  • DWD is cited as the cause in 25% of police crash reports.

Despite this overwhelming body of evidence, people still amazingly allow themselves to drive distracted. Recently though, many states have begun to proactively pass legislation geared towards reducing or eliminating distracted driving caused by mobile device use.

The best advice to help alleviate this problem is not to add to it and if you absolutely have to talk or text, safely pull your vehicle over and park. This is the smartest way to ensure you don’t endanger yourself and others.

Do you know your state’s distracted driver or hands-free laws? Just click on your state to find out what, if any, mobile device restrictions have been enacted and stay informed!

Table of Contents:

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming

Alabama Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Alabama Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Alabama.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban 16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience. No Ban No Ban 16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience.

Alaska Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Alaska Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Alaska.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban YES YES YES

Arizona Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Arizona Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Arizona.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Arkansas Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Arkansas Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Arkansas.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
18 to 20 years old YES Under 18 years old YES YES YES

California Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

California Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in California.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
YES YES Under 18 years old YES YES YES

Colorado Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Colorado Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Colorado.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban Under 18 years old YES YES YES

Connecticut Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Connecticut Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Connecticut.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging   School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers YES YES Under 18 years old and those with Learners Permit YES YES YES

Delaware Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Delaware Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Delaware.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES Those holding learner’s permits and intermediate licenses. No Ban No Ban Those holding learner’s permits and intermediate licenses.

Florida Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Florida Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Florida.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Georgia Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Georgia Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Georgia.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES No Ban No Ban No Ban YES

Hawaii Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Hawaii Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Hawaii.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Idaho Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Idaho Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Idaho.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban


*Idaho utilizes a list of distractions in or on a vehicle, which the officer is supposed to describe in their report.

Illinois Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Illinois Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Illinois.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES Under 18 years old YES YES YES


*Illinois prohibits the use of cell phones when driving through school and/or construction zones.

Indiana Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Indiana Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Indiana.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban 18 years old or younger No Ban No Ban 18 years old or younger

Iowa Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Iowa Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Iowa.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban Restricted or intermediate licensees YES YES YES

Kansas Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Kansas Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Kansas.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban Learner or intermediate license holders No Ban No Ban Learner or intermediate license holders

Kentucky Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Kentucky Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Kentucky.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES 18 years old or younger YES YES YES

Louisiana Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Louisiana Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Louisiana.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES YES YES YES YES

Maine Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Maine Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Maine.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban 18 years old or younger No Ban 18 years old or younger No Ban


*Maine has a distracted driver law.

Maryland Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Maryland Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Maryland.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban 18 years old or younger or those with Learners or Provisional Licenses YES YES YES

Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Massachusetts Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Massachusetts.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES No Ban No Ban No Ban YES

Michigan Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Michigan Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Michigan.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban* YES YES YES


*Teens with a probationary license, who have caused an accident or received a ticket due to cell phone, may not use a cell phone while driving.

Minnesota Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Minnesota Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Minnesota.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES 18 years old or younger or those with Learners or Provisional Licenses YES YES YES

Mississippi Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Mississippi Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Mississippi.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban Those with Learner or Provisional licenses

Missouri Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Missouri Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Missouri.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban Anyone 21 and under

Montana Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Montana Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Montana.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Nebraska Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Nebraska Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Nebraska.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban Anyone under 18 who have a Learners or Provisional license YES YES YES

Nevada Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Nevada Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Nevada.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

New Hampshire Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

New Hampshire Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in New Hampshire.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban YES YES YES



*New Hampshire has a comprehensive distracted driving law.

New Jersey Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

New Jersey Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in New Jersey.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
YES YES Anyone under 21 years old with a GDL or Provisional license YES YES YES

New Mexico Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

New Mexico Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in New Mexico.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
New Mexico drivers No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

New York Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

New York Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in New York.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
YES No Ban No Ban YES YES YES

North Carolina Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

North Carolina Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in North Carolina.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES Licensees under 18 years old YES YES YES

North Dakota Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

North Dakota Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in North Dakota.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Ohio Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Ohio Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Ohio.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Oklahoma Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Oklahoma Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Oklahoma.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Oregon Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Oregon Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Oregon.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
YES No Ban Drivers under 18 years old YES YES YES

Pennsylvania Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Pennsylvania Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Pennsylvania.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Rhode Island Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Rhode Island Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Rhode Island.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES Drivers under 18 years old YES YES YES

South Carolina Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

South Carolina Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in South Carolina.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban


*South Carolina has Distracted/Inattention attributes under Contributing Factors.

South Dakota Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

South Dakota Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in South Dakota.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban No Ban

Tennessee Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Tennessee Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Tennessee.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES Those with Learners or Intermediate licenses YES YES YES

Texas Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Texas Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Texas.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban Anyone with passengers under 17 years old Intermediate license, 1st year No Ban Anyone with passengers under 17 years old Intermediate license, 1st year


*Texas bans the use of cell phones in school zones.

Utah Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Utah Cell Phone/Texting Laws*

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Utah.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban 16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience. No Ban No Ban 16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience.


*Utah has a distracted driving law, which defines careless driving as committing a moving violation while using a cell phone that isn’t directly related to driving.

Vermont Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Vermont Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Vermont.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES 18 years and younger YES YES YES

Virginia Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Virginia Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Virginia.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban YES 18 years and younger YES YES YES

Washington Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Washington Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Washington.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
YES No Ban Learners or Intermediate license holders YES YES YES

Wisconsin Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Wisconsin Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Wisconsin.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban YES YES YES

West Virginia Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

West Virginia Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in West Virginia.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban Learner or Intermediate license holders No Ban No Ban YES

Wyoming Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

Wyoming Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Wyoming.

Handhelds All Cell Phones Text Messaging
  School Bus Drivers New Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers New Drivers
No Ban No Ban No Ban YES YES YES