What is an SR-22?
An SR-22 is a document employed by most state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), providing proof the driver carries the state’s required minimum liability insurance coverage.
A state will typically require an SR-22 in order to reinstate someone’s driving privileges after they have been suspended due to any number offenses such as driving under the influence/driving while intoxicated (DUI/DWI), excessive tickets, reckless driving, or even failing to pay child support.
Typical requirements and states without SR-22 requirements
Other typical SR-22 requirements may include the following:
- The insurance company must inform the DMV if the policy is canceled or if coverage lapses.
- Even if someone doesn’t own a car, they may be required to carry a non-owner SR-22 policy.
- In most cases, SR-22 insurance may be carried up to three years from the reinstatement date.
- The insurance company is required to notify the DMV if:
- The driver is late making payments
- The coverage lapses for any reason
- The driver changes insurance carriers
- Failure to comply with requirements will result in license suspension even if a one-day lapse or late payment occurs.
- Upon suspension, the SR-22 policy will need to be renewed and the restrictive period will begin anew.
Most insurance companies offer SR-22 liability insurance but some do not. Upon obtaining SR-22 insurance, the driver will receive a certificate which is proof of insurance and must be kept current and remain in the vehicle at all times.
There are currently six states that do not require SR-22 insurance. These states include Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania
How much does an SR 22 cost?
SR-22 insurance coverage costs will vary according to rating factors, which will include one’s driving record, so a DUI/DWI conviction or excessive traffic tickets will likely affect premiums. Insurance companies rate a policy based upon these factor regardless of whether it is an SR-22 filing or not.
Often, reinstatement penalties will be assessed. Since an SR-22 is almost always required before reinstatement, they should be taken into account when considering SR-22 costs. These fees can range between $55 and $250.
Insurance companies can also charge a nominal filing fee, usually $15 to $25.
Read Below to See Requirements by State