Save up to $400 on
Alabama car insurance

Alabama Hands-Free Driving Laws and Requirements

According to statistics 50% of all drivers between 18 and 24 admit to texting while driving and 4 out of 5 accidents can be attributed to distracted drivers. It is a well-known fact that texting and driving, makes someone 23% more likely to be involved in an accident.

Currently, there are six states that have banned the use of handheld cell phones while driving.

No state has passed a law completely banning cell phone use for all drivers, however many do ban cell phones for certain types of drivers.

There are currently 25 states that have complete or partial bans on text messaging while driving.

The simplest advice is to not use a cell phone while driving. Being caught means a driver could face fines and even jail time, particularly if he or she causes an accident due to their distracted driving.

Alabama Cell Phone/Texting Laws

Use the following convenient table to see what and what isn’t permitted in Alabama.

HandheldsAll Cell PhonesText Messaging
 School Bus DriversNew DriversAll DriversSchool Bus DriversNew Drivers
No BanNo Ban16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience.No BanNo Ban16 to 17 years old with less than six months driving experience.