Save up to $400 on
California car insurance

California DUI Laws

In the state of California you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First California DUI Offense

  • From 4 days to 6 months imprisonment
  • $390 to $1000 fine(s)
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of Driving Under the Influence Program
  • SR-22 required for restricted license

Second California DUI Offense
  • From 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $390 to $1000 fine(s)
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of Driving Under the Influence Program
  • SR-22 required for restricted license

Third California DUI Offense
  • From 120 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $390 to $1000 fine(s)
  • 3-year license suspension
  • Designation as habitual offender
  • Cannot apply for restricted license until after 1 year
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of Driving Under the Influence Program
  • SR-22 required for restricted license

Fourth California DUI Offense
  • From 180 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $390 to $1000 fine(s)
  • 4-year license suspension
  • Cannot apply for restricted license until after 1 year
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of Driving Under the Influence Program
  • SR-22 required for restricted license

California has strict drunk driving laws for drivers under the age of 21 and repeat offenders (cannot have a BAC in excess of 0.01%) and zero tolerance for drivers under the age of 18. Furthermore, commercial drivers cannot have a BAC in excess of 0.04%.