Save up to $400 on
Colorado car insurance

Colorado DUI Laws

In the state of Colorado you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Colorado DUI Offense

  • 5 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $1000 fine
  • 9-month license suspension
  • 12 license points
  • 48 to 96 hours community service
  • Jail time may be waived in lieu of substance abuse program

Second Colorado DUI Offense
  • 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1000 to $1500 fine
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock must be installed prior to license reinstatement if within 5 years of previous DUI.
  • 12 license points
  • 60 to 120 hours community service

Third Colorado DUI Offense
  • 70 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $900 to $1500 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock must be installed prior to license reinstatement
  • 12 license points
  • 56 to 112 hours community service

Colorado also has laws regarding Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI), which is a BAC 0.05% to 0.08%.

First Colorado DWAI Offense
  • 2 to 180 days imprisonment
  • $200 to $500 fine
  • 8 license points
  • 24 to 48 hours community service

Second Colorado DWAI Offense
  • 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1000 to $1500 fine
  • 1-year license suspension
  • 12 license points
  • 60 to 120 hours community service

Third Colorado DWAI Offense
  • 45 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $1000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • 8 license points
  • 48 to 96 hours community service

Colorado DWAI with Prior Colorado DUI Conviction
  • 60 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $800 to $1200 fine
  • 52 to 104 hours community service

Colorado DUI with Prior Colorado DWAI Conviction
  • 70 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $900 to $1500 fine
  • 56 to 112 hours community service

Colorado’s express consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year. If you refuse a second time, your license will be suspended for two years; third refusal, three years.

In each of the latter two events, you can apply for a restricted license with an ignition interlock device after one year.