Save up to $400 on
Mississippi car insurance

Mississippi DUI Laws

In the state of Mississippi you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Mississippi DUI Offense

  • Up to 48 hours imprisonment
  • $250 to $1000 fine
  • 90-day license suspension
  • Possible hardship license after 30 days
  • Possible alcohol safety education program
  • Possible attendance to victim impact panel

Second Mississippi DUI Offense
  • 5 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $1500 fine
  • 2 year license suspension
  • 10 days to 1 year community service
  • Possible ignition interlock for 6 months
  • Possible impoundment or vehicle immobilization
  • Possible alcohol safety education program
  • Possible attendance to victim impact panel

Third Mississippi DUI Offense
  • 1 to 5 years imprisonment
  • $2000 to $5000 fine
  • 5 year license suspension
  • Substance abuse program
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Possible impoundment of immobilization of all registered vehicles
  • Possible alcohol safety education program
  • Possible attendance to victim impact panel

Mississippi implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 90 days or 1 year if you have a previous DUI conviction or refusal.