Save up to $400 on
New Hampshire car insurance

New Hampshire DUI Laws

In the state of New Hampshire you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First New Hampshire DUI Offense

  • Minimum 10 days imprisonment if aggravated DWI
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • Minimum $750 fine if aggravated DWI
  • 9-month to 2-year license suspension
  • 18-month to 2-year license suspension if aggravated DWI
  • Completion of impaired driver program
  • Possible alcohol/drug treatment and counseling
  • SR-22 insurance required for 3 years

Second New Hampshire DUI Offense
  • If within 2 years of previous offense:
    • Minimum 30 days
    • 7 days at multiple DWI offender detention center
  • If more than 2 years but less than 10 years of previous offense:
    • Minimum 3 days
    • 7 days at multiple DWI offender detention center
  • Minimum $750 fine
  • Minimum 3-year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible alcohol/drug treatment and counseling
  • SR-22 insurance required for 5 years

Third New Hampshire DUI Offense
  • Minimum 180 days imprisonment
  • Minimum $750 fine
  • Indefinite license suspension though offender may petition for reinstatement after 7 years
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Minimum 28-day residential treatment program
  • Possible alcohol/drug treatment and counseling
  • SR-22 insurance required

New Hampshire’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 180 days. Any subsequent refusal within seven years of the first will result in a 2-year suspension.