Save up to $400 on
Vermont car insurance

Vermont DUI Laws

In the state of Vermont you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Vermont DUI Offense

  • Up to 2 years imprisonment
  • Up to $750 fine
  • 90-day license suspension
  • Minimum $160 DUI surcharge
  • Alcohol and driving education program
  • Treatment assessment
  • Therapy program

Second Vermont DUI Offense
  • Up to 2 years imprisonment
  • Up to $1500 fine
  • 18-month license suspension
  • Minimum 200 hours community service or minimum 60 consecutive hours imprisonment
  • Minimum $160 DUI surcharge
  • Alcohol and driving rehab program

Third Vermont DUI Offense
  • Up to 5 years imprisonment
  • Up to $2500 fine
  • Permanent license suspension
  • Minimum 400 hours community service or minimum 1000 consecutive hours imprisonment
  • Minimum $160 DUI surcharge
  • Possible vehicle seizure
  • Substance abuse therapy program
  • Abstinence from drugs and alcohol for 3 years plus $500 application fee to reinstate license

Vermont’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 6 months and subsequent refusals will result in longer suspensions.