Cheapest Idaho SR-22 Insurance (Compare All Prices)

What We Found When we Shopped Around

Assumptions: We used a driver profile with the following information. This is obviously a perfect-case driver, which wont reflect your personal stats (so you need to get a quote of course to get your prices).

Male. Married. 60 years old with graduate degree. Drives 1999 Honda Civic DX (hey I really drive a car like this). 2-Door. Paid off. Owned more than 2 years. Driven 20 miles per day. Coverage: $25,000. No accidents nor tickets in recent years. Employed as an aerospace engineer. Owns home (5+ years). Continuously insurance for more than 3 years. Licensed 3 or more years. Excellent credit score. Bodily injury limits $25k/50K.

  • Dairyland: $24
  • The General: $73
  • Progressive: $33.78 (or $24.83 via HubInternational)
  • Kemper: $19.5 (via HubInternational)
  • Safeco: $164.60 (via HubInternational)
  • Allied: $51.72 (via HubInternational)
  • Esurance (owned by Allstate): $75.81.

The reason Progressive is on there twice is because we got a second quote via a reseller called HubInternational (never heard of them before today), so on one hand I would rather trust the higher price from the actual Progressive website, however that website did not offer me options like Collision/Comprehensive and other add-ons, so hard to say for sure which was more accurate for my case.

In fact, few of these quotes came directly from vendor websites (via middle-men), so I am always a bit suspect about the advertised prices. I mean, $24/mo for Dairyland, and $19 for Kemper sounds way too good to be true. Besides, does it come with milk and cheese? Kidding. Realistically, SR-22 insurance for under $30, or even $50/mo seems pretty amazing if true. Start by getting a quote above to see how much you will actually pay.

We never included medical or accidental death coverage when it was an optoin. We of course declined all optional add ones like towing, rental cars, comprehensve and collision. We also checked the box that said we looked at least 4 times before crossing the street–I mean we are really safe people, except for the SR-22 of course.

Thought it was important to say that Esurance was by far the most expensive with a whopping $78.81, but they also included a property damage limit of $15k (but not sure if other providers were also including this). Regardless of their discounts (Fast 5®, Homeowners, and DriveSense®) the total discount was only $2.50, so no real help there.

SR22 Insurance Quotes

SR22 car insurance is needed for those individuals who are required by law to file an SR22 in their state, and in fact, few insurance providers actually are willing and able to cover such individuals. An insurance agents can also help you choose the best coverage for your needs, such as deciding on the appropriate amount (at least to state minimums) of property damage limits, bodily injury coverage, other insurance requirements, while simultaneously aiming for the lowest insurance premium. A good auto insurance company will even help you file the SR22 for you. Start by getting a quote above.

Idaho Insurance Rates After Common Violations

High-risk rating factorAverage yearly rateIncrease vs. clean record
No citations$1,064
At-fault collision (>$2,000)$1,601$424
Speeding (21-25 mph > limit)$1,219$125
Reckless driving$1,431$407

(above numbers are based on approximations of millions of insurance data points)

Overview to How SR-22 Insurance & Forms Works in Idaho

An SR-22 form, SR22 certificate of responsibility, or SR22 filing, is a document issued by an auto insurer to the State indicating that you carry sufficient insurance to satisfy that state’s Financial Responsibility Law.  States demand one from a driver when they have either been convicted of specific crimes or have failed to show evidence of financial responsibility in the even they are found to be at fault in an accident, making them a high risk driver.  Reckless driving may also trigger an SR22 in some states.  Should an SR-22 be required, you are barred from driving until you provide one and maintain the underlying insurance to support the proof of financial responsibility.

Non Owners Insurance in Idaho

If you do not own a vehicle, but need to have an SR-22 in order to drive, you will need to obtain an Operator’s Policy also known as a Named Non Owner Policy, which provides you with liability insurance coverage should you operate a vehicle that is uninsured.  Otherwise, you will need an auto insurance policy that provides liability coverage for both you and your auto.

How an Idaho SR-22 Affects your Car Insurance Rates.

Because the insured has a blemished driving record, they will not get the lowest rates for coverage.  That being said, one should comparison shop and compare rates for the SR22 policy itself as well as any fees related to filing an SR-22.  It should also be noted that if you need to have an SR-22 processed quickly, the fees to do so will not be inexpensive.

Limitations of Idaho SR-22 Insurance Coverage

Another thing to note is that the policy itself may have terms and conditions that may limit coverage under certain circumstances.  For example, should you be involved in an accident and you are using the vehicle in commission of a crime (and the definition of crime includes driving while under the influence (DUI / DWI) of alcohol or drugs) coverage for damage to your auto may evaporate.  In addition, the limits for third party liability coverages in the event the auto is used during a crime will be reduced to the statutory minimum required by the state.

Once the period for which your need to supply an SR-22 ends, you will then have much more flexibility to select an insurance policy as more insurers will be willing to insure you with a better rate.  In addition, you will no longer need to pay any fees associated with processing the document.

Why Would I Need an SR–22 in Idaho?

In the state of Idaho, you will need an SR – 22 if you have a suspended license or it has been revoked for a serious offense.  Reasons for a suspension include, but are not limited to; 

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs  (DUI / DWI)
  • Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony 
  • Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death  
  • Leaving the scene of an accident before police arrive 
  • Reckless driving 
  • Conviction or action in another jurisdiction for an offense that, if committed in Idaho, would be ground for suspension, revocation or disqualification 
  • Driving while suspended, revoked, or disqualified
  • Failing to pay a judgment for damages in an accident 
  • Administrative license suspension for failing a breath, blood or urine test (without a      warrant) for Driving while Under the Influence (DUI)
    If you fail, are unable to complete or refuse to take an examination to determine if you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will receive a notice from the peace officer who cites you that your license has been suspended.  You will then have seven days to show cause as to why it should not be suspended and, if the matter involves a refusal to submit to an examination, an explanation as to why you refused.
  • Fleeing from or eluding a peace officer 
  • Unlawful use of a driver’s license or identification card
  • Failure to carry motor vehicle insurance 
  • Alcohol age violation (possession, use or procurement) 
  • Violation of license restrictions

In addition

  • School     Districts may order the ITD DMV to suspend the driver’s license of a minor     who fails to attend school or does not comply with school requirements
  • Any     court or the Department of Health and Welfare may order ITD DMV to suspend     the driver’s license of any person who fails to pay child support, fails     to comply with visitation rights, or fails to comply with a subpoena for a     paternity suit or child support proceeding

Idaho also assigns point values to moving violations.  If you are convicted of a moving violation, you will receive one to four points against your license.  Should you accumulate eight to eleven points in a twelve – month period, 14 to 17 points in a 24 month period, or 20 to 23 points in a 36 month period, you will receive a warning letter advising you that your license is in danger of being suspended.  

Should you receive a warning letter, you may want to consider taking a defensive driving course or a Traffic Safety Education Course.  Taking and completing a defensive driving course will subtract three points from your license.  A Traffic Safety Education Course may be offered to you at the time you are cited.  If you elect to take and complete the course, one to four points will be subtracted from your license.  You are only allowed one point subtraction every three years.  You must also complete the course before your driver license is suspended.

Should you accumulate enough points to warrant a suspension, the period of suspension is as follows:

Time PeriodNumber of PointsSuspension Period
12 months 12 – 17 30 days
18 months 18 – 23 90 days
24 months 24 or more Six Months

How Do I Get My License Back (or “Reinstatement”)?

In order to get your license back, you will need to apply to the Idaho Department of Transportation – Department of Motor Vehicles and pay a reinstatement fee that ranges from $25.00 to $285.00 depending on the reason you got your license suspended in the first place.  In addition, you may need to provide,

  • A     receipt of court payment, 
  • Proof     of child support compliance, 
  • Proof     of school re enrollment and or 
  • Proof     of financial responsibility (insurance/SR 22 certificate) 

If your license was suspended as the result of administrative license suspension, you will be required to install in ignition interlock device on your vehicle for a one year period of time after the suspension is lifted.  An ignition interlock device requires that the driver breathe into a breathalyzer before they start their car.  The breathalyzer will then test for alcohol consumption and prevent the car from being started should the driver be intoxicated.  In addition, the ignition interlock device will request a breath sample at random intervals while the driver is operating the car.  One thing it won’t do is shut the car off while you are driving should you be intoxicated.  There is a fee for installation and purchase of the device as well as for maintenance.  These vary, so you may want to shop for the best deal.

You may be able to receive a Restricted Driving Permit while your license has been suspended, if it has been suspended for the following reasons:

  • Accumulating     excessive points
  • Using     a motor vehicle to commit a felony 
  • Leaving     the scene of an accident
  • Reckless     driving 
  • Conviction     or action in another jurisdiction for an offense that, if committed in     Idaho, would be ground for suspension, revocation or disqualification 
  • Driving     while suspended, revoked, or disqualified
  • Administrative     license suspension (for failing a breath, blood or urine test (without a     warrant) for DUI 
  • Fleeing     from or eluding a peace officer 
  • Violation     of license restrictions

A Restricted Driving Permit would allow you to drive to and from employment, counseling sessions, medical appointments, grocery store, or church.  

If your driver license was suspended by court order, you must receive permission from the court to apply for a Restricted Driving Permit.  You will also agree to the following:

  • Cause      exists to suspend or revoke the driver’s license or privileges of the      applicant and that the driver’s license of the applicant is suspended or      revoked;
  • The      applicant shall obey all motor vehicle laws; 
  • The      applicant shall provide and maintain adequate motor vehicle liability      insurance;
  • The      applicant shall notify the Department within one (1) business day      following arrest, citation, accident or warnings by any law enforcement      officer with regard to motor vehicle violations or alleged violations, and      any change of address, telephone number, or place of employment;
  • The      applicant shall not operate any motor vehicle after consuming any alcohol,      drugs, or other intoxicating substances; 
  • The      applicant shall submit to any evidentiary testing to determine alcohol      concentration at any time at the request of any peace officer; 
  • The      applicant shall operate a motor vehicle only for those reasons specified      on the restricted driving permit; 
  • The      applicant shall abide by all rules and regulations concerning the      restricted driving permit; 
  • The      applicant’s restricted driving permit may be cancelled by the Department      without a hearing for violation of the terms of the agreement or other      conditions specified on the restricted driving permit (Section 600); and
  • The      applicant understands that if he/she pleads guilty, is found guilty of, or      forfeits bond to any future moving traffic violation(s) or receives an      additional Department or court suspension, the restricted driving permit      may be canceled, the driving privileges may be resuspended or revoked, and      the applicant may not be eligible to receive another restricted driving      permit for said suspension. 

Reinstatement Fees

In addition, you will be required to pay a $60.00 fee in addition to the reinstatement fee. 

In summary,  If you have had your driver license suspended or revoked, you will need and SR – 22.  In addition, there will be several steps you need to take in order to partially have your driving privilege restored so that you may be able to drive again even after you have been sanctioned.